Scottish Comedy Award 2017 Voting Now Open.

The 4th annual Scottish Comedy Awards will take place 7pm Tuesday 1st August, the night before the Edinburgh Fringe begins, at Le Monde, George St, Edinburgh.
Voting is open to those who WORK in the Scottish Comedy Industry, either as performers, writers, producers, promoters, venue staff, TV & Radio production staff or similar.

IF YOU ARE A COMEDY FAN / AUDIENCE MEMBER but do not actively work in Scottish Comedy you CANNOT vote. Sorry.

Tickets to the awards ceremony will be free to all those in the industry – Scottish or otherwise. Details closer to the time. If you have any questions / media requests about the event please contact Jojo Sutherland or Alan Anderson.

The awards celebrate live and broadcast Scottish comedy produced or performed in 2016.


Edinburgh Comedy Award winner Richard Gadd – Nominated for Best Show

2016 was obviously a momentous year for Scottish Comedy with Richard Gadd winning the Edinburgh Comedy Award main prize and subsequently being nominated for a prestigious Barry Award at Melbourne Comedy Festival. Alongside him, Best Newcomer Scott Gibson has also been making a big name for himself beyond Scottish Comedy circles. Destined to become a household name, Gibson leads this year’s Scottish Comedy Awards with nominations in three categories (Best Headliner, Compere & Show).


BBC Two’s cast of Two Doors Down

BBC Two’s series Two Doors Down and BBC Scotland’s Scot Squad battle it out with 4 nominations each across the categories of Best Actress (Doon Mackichan vs Karen Bartke) , Best Actor (Alex Norton vs Chris Forbes & Darren Connell), Best Show and Best Writer (Gregor Sharp & Simon Carlyle).


BBC One’s cast of Scot Squad

BBC One’s Still Game is not far behind with 3 nominations in similar categories Best Show, Jane McCarry & Ford Kiernan). Best TV Show category also features Frankie Boyle’s American Autopsy for BBC.


Neil “The Wee Man” Bratchpiece in World’s Worst Peado

BBC Radio Scotland Breaking The News is again nominated for Best Radio Show, panelist Neil “The Wee Man” Bratchpiece has an additional two nominations for his writing and online videos. In the online category he is up against Gaelic speaker and wildswimmer Calum Maclean whose BBC Social videos are viewed by millions across the globe.


Gaelic speaker BBC ALBA Wild Swimmer Calum Maclean


The GB Xperience

The Best Radio Show category also include regular Radio 4 Stands Up by Edinburgh based Dabstar Productions, Radio Scotland’s Off The Ball and Jailmates feat Gary Little and Julia Sutherland and Clyde 1’s GB Xperience which kicks off every Glaswegian’s Friday night with a hearty dose of crazily remixed banging tunes, alongside George Bowie’s banter and audience shout outs.


Global superstar Isla Nelson

Isla Nelson is is the youngest ever Scottish Comedy Award nominee. With millions of fans worldwide, Isla is the global star of BBC Scotland’s News at Two (now News at Three). Isla is nominated for Best Actress and Best Online Comedy.


Julia Sutherland & best Headliner nominee Gary Little in BBC Radio Scotland’s Jail Mates

Incidentally, Isla’s supporting actor, her dad, is also nominated for Best Headliner. He’s a two time previous winner of Best Headliner and is again up against former winner Gary Little, as well as Gibson and former winner of Best Support Act, Susie McCabe. Despite being in Edinburgh at 8pm, it is hoped that Isla can attend the glittering ceremony with her mum, although it is expected her dad will be stuck at home babysitting her wee brother.


Former The Colour Ham sketch group member Colin Cloud nominated in Best Variety

This week Colin Cloud appeared on America’s Got Talent. His performance has had over 60million views online. Colin is nominated in the Best Improv / Variety / Sketch category alongside Glasgow sketch combos Chunks & SCRAM and their Edinburgh counterparts Shambles.

Edinburgh Comedy Award Panel Prize winner Iraq Out And Loud where 1444 comedians and other people read the Chilcott Report in full, uninterrupted for 284hrs45mins, in a hut, is nominated for Best Event; alongside the inaugural and massively successful Aberdeen Comedy Festival; the Scottish Comedian of the Year Final at Glasgow’s Barrowlands, where ticket prices were replaced by over 600 foodbank and christmas toy donations; and Vladimir McTavish’s 60th Birthday Roast at The Stand Edinburgh.

Over 170 nominations were received from across the Scottish Comedy industry in January and subsequently whittled down by a panel of 10 comedians.

Special awards for Lifetime Achievement and Outstanding Contribution, decided by the nominations panel will be announced shortly.

Full Scottish Comedy Award Nominations

Best Headliner
Gary Little
Mark Nelson
Scott Gibson
Susie McCabe
Best Compere
Billy Kirkwood
Jay Lafferty
Ray Bradshaw
Scott Gibson
Best Newcomer
Christopher KC
Donald Alexander
Joseph Goss
Rachel Jackson
Best Improv / Variety / Sketch
Colin Cloud
Best Actress
Doon Mackichan
Isla Nelson
Karen Bartke
Best Actor
Alex Norton
Chris Forbes
Darren Connell
Ford Kiernan
Best TV Comedian
Daniel Sloss
Frankie Boyle
Iain Stirling
Larry Dean
Best Radio Comedian
Des Clarke
Gary Little
Miles Jupp
Raymond Mearns
Best Solo Festival / Tour Show
Chris Forbes – Tall Needy Mutant
Fern Brady – Male Comedienne
Richard Gadd – Monkey See Monkey Do
Scott Agnew – I’ve Snapped My Banjo String, Let’s Just Talk
Scott Gibson – Life After Death
Susie McCabe – There is More to Life Than Happiness
Best TV Show
2 Doors Down
Frankie Boyle’s American Autopsy
Scot Squad
Still Game
Best Radio Show
Breaking The News
The GB Xperience
Off The Ball
Radio 4 Stands Up
Best Online Comedy
Ashley Storrie’s Twitter / Facebook
BBC ALBA Wild Swimming with Calum Maclean
BBC Scotland News at Two
Joe Heenan’s Twitter
The Wee Man Videos
Best Writer
Chris Grady
Neil Bratchpiece
Phil Differ
Best Event
Aberdeen Comedy festival
Iraq Out And Loud
Vladimir McTavish Birthday Roast
Best Comedy Club (large)
Monkey Barrel, Edinburgh
The Stand, Edinburgh
The Stand, Glasgow
Best Comedy Club (small)
Comedy Creche @ Dram!, Glasgow
Dalriada, Portabello
Drouthy Cobbler, Elgin
Kilted Kangaroo, Stirling
Yesbar!, Glasgow


To vote in the Scottish Comedy Awards 2017 please complete the following form



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s