Scottish Comedy Award Nominations 2016

Earlier this week the Scottish Comedy Awards nominations committee 2016 met and whittled down the peer nominated long list into the shortlist from which those working within the Scottish Comedy Awards may vote.

Daniel Sloss leads the nominations for this year’s Scottish Comedy Awards.

The Fife born funnyman is up for four gongs at the award ceremony held at the Blythswood Square hotel next month, including best TV comic, best solo tour.

25 year old Sloss recently returned from the States after making his fifth appearance on Conan O’Brien’s late night talk show.

Right behind Sloss is Des Clarke, up for three awards, including two in the best radio show category. The Glasgow comedy stalwart will be taking on Radio 2’s Ken Bruce.

It’s the first time Bruce has been nominated. Judges say they backed the mid-morning fixture as “a nod to the fact that every week day over five million people listen to his punchline ridden banter with Lynn Bowles and those terribly funny reader emails”.

Others nominated include circuit stalwarts Janey Godley, Gary Little and Mark Nelson for best headliner.

Daisy Earl who won last year’s Scottish Comedian of the Year and is currently enjoying the prize of performing at the Adelaide fringe is up for best newcomer.

There’s a strong presence for Scot Squad, BBC Scotland’s semi-improvised hit comedy show featuring a slew of stand-ups, with Grado, Darren Connell and Chris Forbes all up for best actor.

Kevin Bridges gets a nod for his phenomenal sell-out tour which saw tens of thousand of Scots flock to theatres and conference centre to catch his show.

Frankie Boyle also finds himself on the list for his caustic Election Autopsy filmed for the BBC iplayer just a week after last May’s vote.

Summit Funny, where a bunch of comedians climbed a mountain and performed jokes to an audience at the top is up for best event.

As is ICW’s Fear and Loathing VIII at the SECC. It was the latest event from the Scottish wrestling promoters who’ve made the sport, the drama and the laughs more popular than they’ve been in years.

Organiser Alan Anderson said: “it’s been an odd year for Scottish Comedy and I think these nominations represent that.

“Kevin Bridges sells out massive venues by standing behind a microphone and telling jokes, yet it’s been years since anyone in Scottish TV made a show of other comics doing just that. There is an obvious desire for it as hundreds of thousands of Scots flock to the Edinburgh Fringe to watch stand up comedians from all over the world.

“It’s been difficult for a number of Scottish clubs,  we lost our largest comedy club Jongleurs and there doesn’t seem to be anywhere ready to replace it. However there is growing number of fantastic small comedy clubs in pubs and social clubs across the country.”


  • Best Headliner

    Gary Little, Janey Godley, Mark Nelson, Raymond Mearns

    Best Newcomer

    Christopher MacArthur Boyd, Daisy Earl, Rosco Mclelland Stuart McPherson

    Best Compere

    Gus Lymburn, Joe Heenan, Ray Bradshaw, Scott Gibson

    Best Sketch / Improv / Variety

    Colin Cloud, Enterteasement, Jellybean Martinez, Stu & Gary

    Best Actor/Actress

    Brian Cox, Chris Forbes, Darren Connell, Grado

    Best TV / Radio Comedian

    Daniel Sloss, Des Clarke, Iain Stirling, Keir McAllister

    Best Solo tour / festival show

    Daniel Sloss, Gary Little, Kevin Bridges, Larry Dean, Richard Gadd, Scott Gibson, So That’s What We Voted For?

    Best TV Show

    Insane Fight Club (BBC Scotland), Radges (BBC 3), Scot Squad (BBC Scotland), STV Nightshift (STV)

    Best Radio Show

    Breaking The News (BBC Radio Scotland), Capital Breakfast with Des and Jenny, (Capital FM), Des Clarke Exposed (BBC Radio Scotland), Off The Ball (BBC Radio Scotland), Ken Bruce (BBC Radio 2)

    Best Online

    Darren Connell’s Twitter, Frankie Boyle’s Election Autopsy, Joe Heenan’s Twitter M.U.F.F. ‘ Rab Florence’s Supernatural Square Go

    Best Writer

    Keir McAllister, Ross “Teddy” Craig, Sloss & Humphries, Steven Dick

    Best Event

    Christmas Lectures ,CHUNKS, ICW Fear & Loathing VIII, Rhona McKenzie Wheelchair Fundraiser, Summit Funny

    Best Club over 100 capacity

    Admiral, Glasgow Blue Lamp, Aberdeen The Stand, Edinburgh The Stand, Glasgow

    Best Club under 100 capacity

    48 Below, Edinburgh Beehive, Edinburgh Dram, Glasgow Drouthy Cobbler, Elgin Ship Inn, Irvine

Voting will open on Monday . Only those actively working within Scottish Comedy either as performers, producers, writers, promoters, venue staff, or within TV and Radio broadcasting will be eligible to vote.

The Awards ceremony will take place on Monday 25th April at Glasgow’s Blythswood Hotel.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s