Arnold Brown and Viv Gee to be honoured at inaugural Scottish Comedy Awards.


Two of Scotland’s the most influential comedians; Arnold Brown and Viv Gee, will be honoured by their peers this Monday evening at the inaugural Scottish Comedy Awards in Glasgow’s Blythswood Hotel on Monday 31st March 2014 at 7pm.

All comedians and comedy people of Scotland are most welcome to join us at the event.

Arnold Brown will be honoured with a Lifetime Achievement award whilst Viv Gee will receive the award for Outstanding Contribution To Comedy.

Arnold Brown was on stage at the opening night of the Comedy Store in 1979. A founder member of the “Comic Strip”, he had cameos in TV shows like “The Young Ones”, in indie films and even supported Frank Sinatra at Ibrox stadium. He won the Perrier Award for Comedy at the Edinburgh Fringe and has often been referred to as “the comedian’s comedian”.

For almost two decades comedian and poet Viv Gee has tutored many new comics at Strathclyde University’s Centre for Life Long Learning. Alumi include many Scottish Comedy circuit stalwarts including; Des Clarke, Des McLean, Jim Muir, Mark Nelson and Billy Kirkwood.

The full list of nominees and categories is below. The votes have been counted, double checked and triple checked.

Best Headliner

Gary Little
Janey Godley
Raymond Mearns
Mark Nelson
Vladimir McTavish

Best Compere

Billy Kirkwood
Jo Heenan
Raymond Mearns
Scott Agnew
Jojo Sutherland

Best Newcomer

Larry Dean
Ashley Storrie
Robin Grainger
Jim Smith
Susie McCabe
Jellybean Martinez

Best Comedy Actor / Actress

Greg McHugh
James Kirk
Sharon Rooney
Matthew Ellis

Best TV Show

2 Doors Down
Limmy’s Show
Scot Squad
Only an Excuse
Ginge Geordie & The Geek

Best Radio Show

Jo Caulfield’s Speakeasy
Mark Nelson’s Guide to Marriage
MacAulay and Co
Radio 4 Extra Stands Up
The Lach Chronicles

Best Podcast

Amnesty International’s Secret Comedy Podcast
Janey Godley’s podcast
Living Room Sessions
Scottish Comedy FC
The Good, The Bad and The Ugly

Best Online Contribution

Darren Connell’s Twitter
Joe Heenan’s Twitter
Scottish Comedy FC
John Fleming’s Blog
Limmy’s Twitter

Best Support Act

Keir McAllister
Ray Bradshaw
Stu & Gary
Stuart Mitchell
Susie McCabe

Best Comedy Writer

Stephen Dick
Phil Differ
Keir McAllister
How Do I Get Up There
Ian Pattinson

Best Festival or Tour Show

Daniel Sloss: Stand Up
Scott Agnew: Tales of the Sauna
Gary Little: The Thing Is
Richard Gadd: Cheese and Crack Whores
Bruce Fummey: Gaelic in the Afternoon
Raymond Mearns: Waking Up to Myself
Keir McAllister & Vladimir McTavish: Look at the state of

Best Sketch / Improv group

How Do I Get Up There
Stu & Gary
Broken Windows Policy
Greater Shawlands Republic
The Colour Ham
Ginge, Geordie & The Geek

Best TV Comedian

Daniel Sloss
James Kirk
Susan Calman
Jonathon Watson

Best Radio Comedian

Fred MacAulay
Jo Caulfield
Mark Nelson
Susan Calman
Des Clarke

Best Central Belt Comedy Club (under 100 capacity)

The Halt Bar, Glasgow
Vespbar, Glasgow
The State Bar, Glasgow
The Beehive, Edinburgh
Dalriadia, Portobello
The Crow, Bishopbriggs

Best Central Belt Comedy Club (over 100 capacity)

The Stand, Glasgow
The Stand, Edinburgh
Jongleurs, Glasgow
Pleasance Cabaret Bar – Edinburgh
Regal theatre, Bathgate
Admiral Bar, Glasgow

Best Regional Comedy Club

Blue Lamp, Aberdeen
Harbour Arts Centre, Irvine
Just Laugh, Dundee
The Star, Burntisland

Best Event

Comedians Rap Battle
Glasgow Stands Up For The Clutha
Rockness Comedy Tent
Scottish Comedian of the Year Final
Secret Policemen’s Ball (Glasgow QMU)